Skip to content

Weekend Round-Up (17th & 18th of February)

The start of the senior women's race at the 2024 Welsh Cross Country Championships.

19/02/2024 00:00, In Blog / Club Notice Board / Road / Cross Country / Track & Field /

Welsh Cross Country Championships, 17 February

Over 1,000 athletes took to the field in Brecon for the 119th edition of the Welsh Cross Country Championships in what were sticky and challenging conditions.

Caryl Edwards (Swansea Harriers) and Matt Willis (Wrexham AAC) took the senior honours, and gold and silver medallists in the U17, U15 & U13 races secured automatic selection to represent Wales at the London Mini Marathon.


2024 Microplus UK Athletics Indoor Championships, 17 & 18 February

It was a successful weekend for Welsh athletes at the UK Athletics Indoor Championships, which saw Jeremiah Azu (Cardiff Athletics), Olivia Breen (City of Portsmouth), and Piers Copeland (Pontypridd Roadents) crowned Champions.  

There was further success for Gracie Griffiths (Pembrokeshire Harriers) and Patrick Swan (Cornwall AC / Swansea Harriers) picking up silver medals, and Thomas Walley (Wrexham AAC) and Justin Davies (Team Bath) securing bronze medals.

There was also an array of personal and season bests for a strong contingent of Welsh athletes that made the trip to the Utilita Arena.


Seville Marathon, 18 February

Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) was in action in Spain, at the Seville Marathon clocking a time of 2:12.52.


UK Winter Throws Championships, 17 February

Michael Jenkins (Pembrokeshire Harriers) and Funmi Oduwaiye (DSW Para Academy) were in action in Loughborough at the UK Winter Throws Championships.

In the senior men’s discus Jenkins (Pembrokeshire Harriers) set a new personal best of 49.57m to finish in fourth place. Whilst in the senior women’s discus Oduwaiye (DSW Para Academy) threw a season-best of 29.90m.


Village Bakery Wrexham Half Marathon, 18 February

The Village Bakery Half Marathon returned on Sunday. Which saw Andrew Heyes (Hallamshire Harriers Sheffield) finish first overall, and Sally O'Gorman (Stockport HarriersAC) win the women's race.


Keep up-to-date with the latest news and updates on our social channels.