Skip to content

2023 Welsh Road Relay Championships Preview

Road Relay Banner.png

07/09/2023 00:00, In Blog / Club Notice Board / Road /

The Welsh Road Relay Championships will return to Pembrey Country Park on Saturday the 9th of September. 

Senior teams will cover a distance of 5,400m in a team of four, where teams will battle it out to be named Welsh Road Relay Champions.  

2022 men’s Champions Swansea Harriers return with an extremely strong team. The line-up includes Welsh Marathon Champion Dewi Griffiths, 2022 Commonwealth Games athlete Jonathan Hopkins, Jonathan Butler and Dafydd Jones, who recently returned from representing Great Britain & Northern Ireland at the U20 European Championships in which he made the final of the 3000m. It was Dewi Griffiths who set the fastest leg in last year’s edition registering a time of 16:36, with the team finishing in 1:09:14. 

Although the line-up has changed slightly since the 2022 edition, second place finishers Pontypridd Roadents return with Adam Bull and Paul Graham. This year they are joined by Daniel Hamilton and Tom Baird.  

Also in the men’s category, third place finishers, Les Croupiers return with a similar line-up and include Dylan Nazareth, Ciaran Lewis, Elliott Richards and new to the team Hallam Girardet. They will look to improve on last year’s finish of 1:11:24. 

In the women’s race, 2022 Champions Swansea Harriers will be looking to make it back-to-back wins. Both Sioned Howells and Kate Roberts return after finishing first in 2022 with 1:24:36. Hannah Williams and Caryl Edwards will complete the 2023 relay team. 

2022 silver medallists Les Croupiers also return with half of 2022’s team. Alaw Evans will lead the side after recently taking victory at the CDF 10k. Amy Griffiths also returns, with Stephanie Connaire and Louise Flynn as the new additions.  

Pontypridd Roadents took bronze at last year's edition. They will be back led by Olivia Tsim, who ran the fastest leg in last time out with a time of 18:49. Tsim is joined by Josie Mae Wheeler, Emily Adams, and Katie O’Hare.  

Some of the top junior entries include Mille Gold (Cardiff Athletics) who finished second in 2022 in the U15 girls relay. 

Bryony Boyce (Cardiff Athletics) who was part of Cardiff Athletics winning team in the U13 girls relay will also return. 

Joshua Sanders (Cardiff Athletics) who was victorious in the U15 boys race in 2022 and Lucas Salvage (Newport Harriers) who finished second will also be returning. 

View the full entries here!

View the event day information here.

Keep up-to-date with the latest news and updates on our social channels.