Skip to content

Festive Round-Up

Festive round up.jpg

02/01/2024 00:00, In Blog /

Glynneath Boxing Day 5 Miler, 26 December 

One of South Wales’ most iconic festive events returned to the Neath valley town. This year's event was won by Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) in an impressive 22:29, 6 seconds ahead of Ian Hamer’s Welsh Record over the 5-mile distance. Completing the post-Christmas podium were Michael Roderick (Tri Hard Harriers) in 25:27 and Matthew Harvey (Unattached) in 25:40.

The first woman home was Ffion Williams (Port Talbot Harriers) in 29:32, followed by Sarah Howard (Port Talbot Harriers) in 32:42 and Lily Williams (Neath Harriers) in 33:51.


Lions Boxing Day Charity Run, 26 December

Porthcawl Runners also held their Lions Boxing Day Charity Run along a 6.5km course, with nearly 500 participants on the day. Rowan Axe (Cardiff Athletics) took 1st position in a swift 19:20, while Emily Davies was the first female athlete home in 23:42.


Nos Galan, 31 December

The equally iconic Nos Galan returned to Mountain Ash on New Year’s Eve to celebrate the end of 2023 as well as the event’s 65th Anniversary. First across the line in the Men’s race was Ben Reynolds (Cardiff Athletics) in 15:10, ahead of Adam Bull (Pontypridd Roadents) in 15:19 and Jacob Reynolds (Cardiff Athletics) in 15:39.

The women’s race was won by Welsh Marathon Record Holder and 2019 5k champion Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) in 16:50. In 2nd was Lauren Cooper (Western Tempo) in 17:44, followed in 3rd by Kate Roberts (Swansea Harriers ) in 17:55.


Old Father Time, 31 December 

Meanwhile, in Cardiff, Les Croupiers RC hosted the Old Father Time 5 Mile race. The winner was Luke Williams (MMRT) in 26:03, the fastest time for 7 years! with Oli Williams (Les Croupiers) in 2nd and Phil Hambleton (Les Croupiers) in 3rd. 

A clear win in the women’s race was Louise Flynn (Les Croupiers) in 30:39, followed by Clare Patterson (Parc Bryn Bach) and Jen Coleman (Les Croupiers).


The Prince of Wales New Years Day Race, 1 January

Heading west, New Year's Eve also saw the renewal of the Cornelly Striders Prince of Wales Race as runners completed the approximately 6km out and back course along the paths of Kenfig Nature Reserve. James Thie (Pontypridd Roadents) took victory in the men’s race in 22:56 in front of Iwan Froley (Cardiff Athletics) in 23:37 and Daniel May (Cardiff Athletics) in 24:58. The first lady home was Ffion Davies (Port Talbot Harriers) in 26:30, followed by Justine Dawkins (Cornelly Striders) in 29:11 and Sarah Howard (Port Talbot Harriers) in 29:57.


Keep up-to-date with the latest news and updates on our social channels.