Tata Steel Richard Burton 10km & Fun Run

Josh Griffiths and Alaw Beynon-Thomas took victories at the Richard Burton 10k on Sunday.

The event has taken place over several different courses in its 35 year history but still starts and finishes in the village of Cwmavon near Port Talbot.

Josh Griffiths leads Jonathan Hopkins

Previous winners include former world record holder for the marathon Steve Jones, double Olympian Steve Brace, Commonwealth Games Bronze medallist Ian Hamer and more recently Dewi Griffiths on three occasions.

This time however it was British Marathon Champion Griffiths who overcame the his rivals to claim victory in 30:10.

The next athlete home was fellow Swansea Harrier and British Universities 3,000m S/C Champion, Jonathan Hopkins. 30:24. Steve Mitchell of Bristol & West AC was third in 31:42.

The ladies contest was won by 2016 runner-up, Harrier Alaw Beynon-Thomas in 35:33. Charlotte Taylor Green of Bristol & West AC was second in 36:30

Andrea Whitcombe is a former multiple English and laater Welsh cross Country Champion and had won this race 12 months ago. She had to settle for third this time however in 36:57.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA