Nos Galan Road Races - Mountain Ash

The Nos Galan Road Races closed the 2014 racing season for many of the top enduranace runners from Wales and beyond.

The historic event takes place in Mountain Ash and along with elite races, features a fun-run, childrens races, a guest runner and a fireworks display.

Both men's and womens field's featured all three podium finishes from last year with several others keen to cause an upset.

The start of the 2013 Nos Galan Elite Race

The men's race featured a large leading group in the early stages. Pre-race talk had been around Ieuan Thomas (Cardiff AAC) trying to take the title from the 2013 winner, Steve Mitchell (Bristol & West). Both were joined in the leading group by Joshua Griffiths (Swansea Harriers), Andrew Davies (Stockport Harriers), Mike Ward (Cardiff AAC), Carwyn Jones (Cardiff AAC) and Chris Carpanini (Swansea Harriers).

With a lap to go, It was looking as though the race would be decided by Davies, Thomas, Mitchell or Ward. When they turned the final corner it was a burn-up between 'Marathon Man' Davies and Ward who returned from his scholarship in the USA for the Christmas break.

However it was Davies that found the extra strength and came out on top several months after competing for Wales at the Commonwealth Games Marathon in Glasgow. With Ward in second, last year's winner Mitchell had to settle for third.

A modest Andrew Davies spoke after the race saying ''I am delighted to win in Nos Galan. It's my first time here and to beat so many 'track boys' was great. I was expecting Ieuan to come past me on the run in to the finish''.

The women's race was just as exciting with three setting the early pace as Charlotte Gaughan (Cardiff AAC), Jessica Parry-Williams (Les Croupiers) and Kate Roberts (Swansea Harriers) shared the early lead. 

Parry-Williams had finished second last year and pushed around ten metres clear on the penultimate lap in a brave attempt to claim victory this time. Alaw Beynon-Thomas (Swansea Harriers) sat clear in second place, working hard to close the gap. When they appeared a lap later, it was the Swansea Harriers who had pushed clear to take victory in 17:30.

Jessica took second place once again with the inaugural Swansea Half Marathon champion, Hannah Oldroyd (UK Net Runner) finishing third.

Results (top 5). Full results and pictures will follow.

1st Andrew Davies (Stockport Harriers) 14:40
2nd Mike Ward (Cardiff AAC) 14:40
3rd Steve Mitchell (Bristol & West AC) 14:41
4th Ieuan Thomas (Cardiff AAC) 14:42
5th Chris Carpanini 14:45
1st Alaw Beynon-Thomas (Swansea Harriers) 17:30
2nd Jessica Parry-Williams (Les Croupiers) 17:34
3rd Hannah Oldroyd (UK Net Runner) 17:44
4th Charlotte Gaughan (Cardiff AAC)
5th Kate Roberts (Swansea Harriers)

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA