Caernarfon 10km

Run Wales Standings after 9 events here

211 competitors tackled strong winds at the Caernarfon 10km on Sunday. The event hosted the ninth fixture in the 2013 Run Wales Series and incorporated the North Wales Championships for the distance.

Gwyn Owen

Gwyn Owen on his way to victory

Gwyn Owen has recently returned to racing after a long lay-off due to injury. Gwyn took victory in Caernarfon ahead of Brendan Rothery (Eryri Harriers). The pair finished decisively clear of third placed Christopher Evans (Eryri Harriers).

Emma Collins

Ladies winner, Emma Collins

Emma Collins (Denbigh Harriers) took the ladies title ahead of Lisa Cleary (Penarth & Dinas) and Jacqueline Brace (Bridgend AC) who made the trip looking to claim valuable Run Wales points.


10km Road Race along the North Wales waterfront,. Starting and finishing in Parc Coed Helen, Caernarfon.

The 2013 Caernarfon 10km will host the ninth fixture in the Run Wales Series.

Start & route
The race will start and finish at Coed Helen Recreational Grounds. LL54 5RP and follow a route alongside the North Wales waterfront.

Please note that there is limited parking at Coed Helen, alternatively, more accessible parking is available in the castle car park for a small fee (£1.50) which is in the centre of town.

From there take the footbridge over the river, then turn right along the Aberforeshore road with the Menai Straits on your right, Race HQ  is 400mtrs on the left.

Changing facilities
Changing rooms and shower facilities will be provided at the pavilion in Coed Helen Recreational Grounds

The prize presentation will take place approximately 15 minutes after the last runner crosses the finish line, outside the pavilion.

If you are looking for accommodation in Caernmarfon please visit: or

Race history
The well established Caernarfon 10km road race, first contested in 1986 has for the past several years incorporated the North Wales 10k championships. In 2012 the race hosted the North Wales Championships as well as the Welsh & Welsh Inter Regional 10km Championships as was the case in 2008 when the Male course record of 31.02 was set by Michael Johnson (Cardiff AC), the female record holder is none other than 24Hrs World Record Holder and 2006 100km World Champion Lizzie Hawker whose time of 36.26 set in 2007 is still her PB for the distance.

The race route boasts one of the most scenic courses in the UK. Half the route runs along the Menai Straits, with the spectacular Caernarfon Castle as a focal point for the competitors as they approach the finishing line.  Runners also enjoy great views across the Menai Strait to Anglesey with the Llyn Peninsular and the Eifl Mountain Range in the distance.

The race is quite unique in that it can be run either in a clockwise or Anti-clockwise direction, one of the very few road races in the UK which can re-route the course in the reverse direction. The event attracts runners from across Wales, the rest of the UK and Ireland and in 2010 the race was won by a Frenchman. The local area club, The Eryri Harriers boasts 13 individual race winners.

One of the most famous people to run in the race was former Commonwealth Gold medallist Ron Hill, who stated, after finishing the race in 2005, that: 'The course provided the runners with fantastic scenery and was a credit to the area'.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA