2018 Welsh Athletics Annual General Meeting

Monday 29th October, 2018

The 2018 Welsh Athletics Annual General Meeting once again took place at the Metropole Hotel, Llandrindod Wells this past weekend.

The meeting was the last to be chaired by Carol Anthony at the end of her six year term as Chair of the organisation. During her time as Chair, Carol has overseen huge progress for the sport in Wales, with membership figures doubling during her term, and over 40 new Clubs being established across Wales.

The period has also seen significant progress in the governance of the Sport in Wales – with further evidence of this demonstrated at this year’s AGM.

The membership unanimously supported changes to the Board recruitment and appointment process – ensuring that future Board roles will be linked to specific skills or experiences, essential in tackling some of the challenges and opportunities that the sport will face in the coming years. The main changes included;

  • An independently recruited and appointed Chair, with an appointments panel overseeing the process
  • At least 2 Non Executive Directors specifically aligned to the Sport
  • All Directors to demonstrate a passion and understanding of the sport
  • All Non Executive Directors appointed via an open and transparent recruitment process, with an appointments panel overseeing the process
  • The Chair of General Council will remain as a Director, with the appointment process remaining unchanged

In order to manage the transition to the new Board structure, it was agreed to extend the term of the Chair by up to one year.

Other Changes agreed at the AGM were to remove the prescriptive criteria required to hold the role of President or Vice President, the changes should mean a wider pool of potential candidates to choose from going forward – the confirmation of appointment process for the roles remains unchanged.

In relation to confirmed appointments – both David Roberts and Ron Odunaiya were re-elected for a further 3 year term as Non-Executive Directors, whilst Angharad Mair steps down from the Board having completed her 2 terms in the role. Former Presidents Alan Currie and John Penny were elected to the Service Awards panel for a further 3 years, whilst no nominations were received for the role of Secretary to the General Council or to the Endurance Officials committee.

Recipients of the Meritorious Awards for 2018 were confirmed by the Service Awards Panel as Gerald Davies and Dai Gatehouse from the Welsh Schools Athletic Association, Arthur Egan Of Wrexham AAC, Ian Robinson of Wrexham AC and Steve Ryan of Neath Harriers. The Award of Honour recipients for 2018 were confirmed as Paul Brooks, Kath Crane, Stuart Hodson and Nigel Jones – this Award is in recognition of over 25 years of service to the sport.

Welsh Athletics would like to thank all members who supported the meeting on Saturday.

Full documentation relating to the decision agreed at the AGM will be posted on the 2018 AGM page found here

Carol Anthony

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA