Nine Welsh Para-athletes will represent GB in Berlin

Some of Wales' biggest athletic names will head to Berlin from August 20th - 26th to represent Great Britain at the World Para Athletics European Championships 2018. After Gold medal joy on the Gold Coast, Hollie Arnold and Olivia Breen will be looking to add more global medals to their tally. Fellow Paralympian Aled Davies is reigning European Champion in both the shot and discus and will be hoping to retain his titles, whilst Sabrina Fortune will look to challenge for her first global medal in the Shot. They're joined by four sprinters, Jordan Howe, Harri Jenkins and Rhys Jones, from the DSW Para Academy, and Laura Sugar of Birchfield Harriers. T20 distance runner Steve Morris who'll contest both the 800m and 1500m, having represented GB at London 2017.

Paula Dunn, Head Coach at British Athletics, said: “I am delighted to announce the 52 athletes selected to compete for Great Britain & Northern Ireland at the World Para Athletics European Championships in Berlin in August. We have a great tradition of winning medals at a continental level and I am looking forward to watching how our experienced athletes and those making their debuts perform.

“After a three-year period involving two World Championships, a Europeans and a Paralympic Games, it was always the intention for a handful of athletes to rest and recuperate in 2018. We have a great mixture of athletes going to Berlin who have reached the very top of the sport and those beginning their journey and I’ve no doubt they will learn a lot from each other in Berlin.”

Welsh Athletes picked for the British World Para Athletics European Championships 2018 team:

  • Hollie Arnold (David Turner; Blackheath & Bromley) – F46 Javelin
  • Olivia Breen (Aston Moore; City of Portsmouth) – T38 100m
  • Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer Jones; Cardiff) – F63 Shot Put & Discus
  • Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson; Deeside) – F20 Shot Put
  • Jordan Howe (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) – T35 100m & 200m
  • Harri Jenkins (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy) – T33 100m
  • Rhys Jones (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) – T37 100m & 200m
  • Steve Morris (James Thie; Cardiff) – T20 800m &1500m
  • Laura Sugar (Joe McDonnell; Birchfield) – T44 100m & 200m

Steve Morris

Steve Morris will again represent GB over 800m & 1500m

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA