Wins for Ieuan Thomas & Alaw Beynon-Thomas at Nos Galan

Ieuan Thomas (Cardiff AAC) ran away from a quality field to win the 5km elite race at the Nos Galan Road Races on Sunday 31st December.

The event was founded by Bernard Baldwin in 1958 and traditionally offers runners a last racing opportunity of the year.

The race that was originally held over four miles and through the turn of midnight, boasts a list previous winners that include David Bedford, Tony Simmons and Dewi Griffiths.

Ieuan Thomas (134) pictured at the 2014 race.

Thomas last won the event in Mountain Ash in 2012 and as the runner-up last year, was delighted to overcome the defending champion, Kristian Jones (Swansea Harriers) to take victory in 14:29.

The Cardiff man has pedigree on the roads, finishing third at the Armagh International 5km Road Races in 2014 and with a 10km best of 29:24. More recently he made his Great Britain & Northern Ireland Team debut over the summer at the IAAF World Championships in London. 

Four seconds back it was club mate Matt Clowes that was closest to hanging on to the fast finishing winner. Less than a second behind Clowes was 2016 Champion Jones, who is also the course record holder with a mark of  14:11.

Fourth placed Mike Ward (Cardiff AAC) and Triathlete Iestyn Harret in fifth had also been amongst the leading group on the early laps.

Thomas spoke of his victory saying; ''I always love doing this race and it's great to win it again. it's alll the more special to win the Bernard Baldwin Trophy for residents of Rhondda Cynon Taf, because I moved in to the county, earlier in the year''.

The ladies race saw Swansea Harrier, Alaw Beynon-Thomas take a second victory and a record a new lifetime best of 16:49. The current Welsh 5km Road Racing Champion led for most of the race, finally finishing exactly a minute clear of fellow Harrier Sian Edwards in second. Close rival Clara Evans of Cardiff AAC completed the podium places in 18:12.

Megan McBrien of Royal Sutton Coldfield AC and Sandra Chipper (Lliswerry Runners) were fourth and fifth respectively.


Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA