ERRA National 6 Stage Road Relays - Birmingham

Swansea Harriers stormed to National Six Stage Road Relay Championships success in Sutton Park on Saturday.

Swansea Harriers' winning team

Jonathan Tobin had led his team off, finishing in 10th place on the first leg. Tobin was followed by club captain Marc Hobbs. Jon Hopkins was the third man for the Harriers followed by Jack Gooch.

British Marathon Champion Josh Griffiths was the ninth fastest man of the day, on the fifth leg, passing on to Dewi Griffiths with a 23 second advantage.

Griffiths went on to post the fastest leg of the day by 34 seconds with 16:40 and giving the Harriers victory by well over a minute.

Cardiff AAC were the defending champions, finishing seventh this time. Their B Team were 47th with Aberdare Valley AAC finishing 66th.

Swansea women's quartet of Cari Hughes, Sian Edwards, Andrea Whiitcombe and Verity Ockenden finished a credible third.

Cardiff AAC had been bronze medalists last year but finished 11th this time. Cardiff's Charlotte Arter was the second fastest of te day with Ockenden the third fastest on her way to anchoring the Harriers.

Lliswerry Runners made the trip to Birmingham, finishing a credible 53rd out of 85 teams.

2016 Report

Wales enjoyed it's best day set at the ERRA National Road Relay Championships so far, on Saturday.

Cardiff AAC men's team took victory ahead of Swansea Harriers who finished second. Cardiff's women's team also took medals in third place.

Tom Marshall pictured securing the win ahead of Jon Hopkins

Swansea's Danal Desta led his team home in scond place on stage one. Liverpool Harriers then pushed ahead on stage two, holding their lead until Dewi Griffiths charged ahead on leg four, with the second fastest individual time of the day in 16:49.

Welsh rivalry at the Road Relays reached it's greatest peak to date, when Michael Kallenberg (Cardiff AAC) took to the front on leg five with the Harriers chasing hard just behind. 

Tom Marshall (Cardiff AAC) began the last leg with a narrow margin over Jon Hopkins (Swansea Harriers). The two Welshman ran 'stride for stride' when they came in to view around 400 metres from the finish. It was track specialist Marshall however who was able to get away and take Cardiff's first win in sutton Park since 1999. Many at the event described the finih of the race as the most exciting at the event for a very long time, if not ever.

Cardiff's other team finished as the first 'B team' in 19th pace overall. Swansea's 'B team' finished in 30th place.

Swansea Harriers women's team were victorious last year but it was their local rivals who where stronger this time.

Cardiff AAC's women were led off by Lucy Marland, Kat Marshall came next with a solid sub 15 minute clocking. Charlotte Arter then took her team through to third, posting the second fastest time of the day in 14:16. Carys Hughes enjoyed her first outing to Sutton Park, bringing her team home in bronze and giving the clubs men's team something to aspire to. 

Swansea Harriers secured a top ten finish in ninth place with their 'B team' in 44th.

Pics by Mark Shearman

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA