Cardiff 5k Race for Victory - Inc Welsh Champs

Tom Marshall (Cardiff AAC) and Alaw Beynon-Thomas sealed Welsh 5km Road Race Championship titles at the Cardiff 5k - Race for Victory on Sunday.

The race had been selected to host the Championships following a succesfull inaugural edition 12 months ago.

The start of the 2017 Cardiff 5k - Race for Victory

Whitchurch village proved the ideal setting for the race that takes runners on a flat and fast route around Whitchurch and Llandaff North.

The entry had doubled for 2017 with over 1600 runners in the race overall and over 500 in the Welsh Championships.

In addition to the race, the event hosted live music, street food and a pyrotechnics display. The incredible atmosphere and community support helped to make the race quite unique.

The race pictured at the 4km mark

BBC Weather Presenters Derek Brockway and Sue Charles started the race with Brockway providing a weather prediction for the competitors, prior to the race.

Tom Marshall had started as one of the race favourites for the Championships and was the defending race champion.

Carwyn Jones (Cardiff AAC) and James Hunt (Cardiff AAC) joined Marshall at the front with the trio around 40 metres clear heading in to the last kilometre.

Jack Gooch (Swansea Harriers) led the chasers which included Abed Teweldebrhan (Newport Harriers) and Owain Jones (Bristol & West).

Tom Marshall taking victory

It was Marshall however who overcame his clubmates to secure his first Welsh 5km title since 2009, in 14.35.

Jones similarly overcame Hunt to finish in 14.41 with his clubmate finishing in 14.44

Cardiff AAC dominated the team race in the Championships with Aberdare Valley AAC second and Les Croupiers in third.

Alaw Beynon-Thomas was a comfortable winner

The Women's race also saw one of the pre-race favourites running away from the field. This time it was Alaw Beynon-Thomas (Swansea Harriers), scraping uunder 17 minutes to finish in 16.58

Liz Davies (Springfield) was the second athlete home with Natasha Cockram (MMRT) finishing next and taking Welsh Championships Silver.

Carys Hughes (Cardiff AAC) took the Bronze medal in the Championships, leading her club to the team title. Lliswerry Runners finished in second with Cardiff Archers in third.

Pics by Paul Stillman


The second annual Cardiff 5k - Race for Victory takes place on Sunday 30th April in Whitchurch, Cardiff. The 2017 race will incorporate the Welsh 5km Road Running Championships.

The Runners Village is located in the centre of Whitchurch Village. This area houses all the amenities and will be the hub of the event.

Race HQ

Event Information Point
Bag Drop Off
Start / Finish Gantry
Media Wall
Live Music Stage
Street Food Stalls
An array of local Cafes, Restaurant's and Pubs

The Runners Village is perfectly located for pre race preparations as well as post race celebrations with friends and family

The start of the inaugural Cardiff 5k  Race for Victory

2016 report

The hugely succesful inaugural Cardiff 5k - Race for victory, took place on Sunday 1st May. The Whitchurch based event saw nearly 800 runners race around the streets of the village and on to Llandaff North before returning to finish in front of a large crowd.

Live music, street food and entertainment helped to make the event a memorable one.

Cardiff AAC's Tom Marshall was the first man home in 14:51. Marshall had passed the 4km mark with club mates Ieuan Thomas and Carwyn Jones, before making the race his own in the final stages. Thomas and Jones then took the remaining podium places in that order.

Race winner Tom Marshall breaking the tape

Charlotte Green (Bristol & West) took victory in the ladies race with a time of 17:31. Carys Hughes (Les Croupiers) improved her lifetime best to 17:57 for second place. Megan Bowen (Cardiff AAC) took the third lady prize.

Pics by Paul Stillman

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA