Richard Burton 10km Road Race


There is ample parking in and around the village of Cwmavon; including signed, designated parking areas. 

Registration on the day will be in the Cwmavon Community Centre SA12 9DF from 08:30. There will be marked tables inside where you will register and pick up your timing chip and number. Refreshments and entertainment will be available pre and post race. 

2K Fun Run registration will be in the Cwmavon Rugby Club alongside the Community Centre. Race number and a T Shirt to run in will be provided from here.

There will be toilets available at the Cwmavon Community Centre, Cwmavon Rugby Club and Portable Toilets at the Cwmavon Welfare Ground opposite the Cwmavon Rugby Club. Disabled toilets will be available at the Cwmavon Community Centre. Pre-race Briefing.

Race Briefing
There will be a Pre-race briefing will be held at Cwmavon Community Centre at 10:40. 

Race Start
The 2 races will start outside the Cwmavon Community Centre SA12 9DF. The first race, the 2K Fun Run will start at approximately 10:15 followed by the 10K race which will start at approximately 11.00. 

Marshalling and First Aid 
The route and First Aid will be under the control of the Western Beacons Mountain Rescue Team who will ensure that any issue that occurs during your run will be dealt with professionally. Marshalling will be under the control of Harsco, Traffic Management and the Course Director.

Drink Stations
There will be ample drink stations en route which will be manned.

Finish Area
On crossing the finishing line, the runners will receive a Richard Burton T-shirt and medal. There will be refreshments available and goody bags for the 2K runners.

Prize list for the 10k, 1st...£200, 2nd..£120, 3rd...£90, 4th...£60, 5th...£50 First male and female veteran over 40...£50 First male and female veteran over 50...£50 First team m/f (3 to score)...£120 1st Cwmafan finisher m/f £50 

A £50 bonus will be paid to the fastest male under 30 Minutes and female runner under 33 minutes. 

A further £50 will be paid to anyone setting a new male or female course record. Current course record holders are Ian Hamer at 29:23 and Andrea Whitcombe at 34:12. 

Cwmavon RFC will compete with Pontrhydyfen RFC for the Matthew Mizen Memorial Trophy.

2K Fun Run Children entering this race will receive a T-shirt on entry (first 300) goodie bag and medal.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA