Nos Galan Road Races - Mountain Ash


Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) and Charlotte Arter (Cardiff AAC) were emphatic winners at the Nos Galan Road Races on New Year’s Eve.

The 5km Elite Races are the highlight off the famous and historic event which is based in Mountain Ash near Aberdare.

The Nos Galan Elite Race pictured in 2013

Griffiths equalled Rob Bugden’s course record of 14:17 to take victory by 13 seconds. The Swansea Harrier ran away from the chasing pack towards the end of the first lap of three.

Mike Ward (Cardiff AAC) battled with Alex George (Gloucester AC) for most of the race. Eventually Ward proved stronger than the European U20 5,000m Champion who had to settle for third.

Further back, the racing was just as fierce with Tom Marshall (Cardiff AAC), Chris Carpanini (Swansea Harriers) and Christian Lovatt (Swansea Harriers) finishing in that order.

Charlotte Arter was unlikely to be troubled in the ladies race and claimed her victory in a time of 16:08. Arter revised Andrea Whitcombe’s course record of 16:43, finishing a minute ahead of last year’s winner, Alaw Beynon-Thomas (Swansea Harriers) who was second this time. Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) was clear in third, with a time of 17:35.


Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA