Caerphilly 10km Road Race

On one of the hottest days of the year so far it was Bristol and West AC’s Owain Jones, pictured above, who starred in the sunshine at the Caerphilly 10k.

After a rain soaked debut Caerphilly 10k in 2013, the second edition of the race was run in temperatures approaching 25 degrees on Sunday (22 June).

It was Jones who best coped with the heat on the undulating course, extending a 400m gap over the rest of the field by halfway and holding on for the victory in a time of 31:22.

Behind him there was a superb battle between multiple Welsh champion Marc Hobbs (Swansea AC) and young talent Josh Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) for the Welsh 10k Championships title.

Both men exchanged the lead on several occasions but it was the more experienced Hobbs who claimed the Welsh 10k title with a strong finish to clock 31:51, five seconds ahead of Griffiths in third place overall.

Brecon AC’s Chris Hayward took the bronze medal with a new personal best of 32:08.

Caerphilly 10k start

(Pictured: The start of the main 10k race in Caerphilly)

Lliswerry’s Emma Wookey was a dominant winner of the women’s race as she took the Welsh 10k title in 36:33, almost two minutes clear of her nearest rival.

Kate Roberts (Swansea Harriers) found things tough in the heat but held on for second place in 38:21, with Clara Evans (Pontypridd Rodents) third in 38:32.

With Evans not eligible for the Welsh 10k Championships it was Les Croupiers’ Carys Hughes who took the bronze medal in 38:53.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA