Admiral Swansea Bay inc Welsh 10km Championships

Swansea 10k 2013 1

The start of the 2013 Admiral Swansea Bay 10k

Swansea Harriers clinched an impressive double at the Swansea Bay 10k asDewi Griffiths and Andrea Whitcombe took the Welsh 10k Championship titles.

Griffiths continued his return to form following injury and illness, clocking 30:36 to secure his third Welsh 10k title and ninth place overall.

Despite having not raced since July’s British Championships, club mate Whitcombe ran 34:43 to take the women’s crown and finish as fourth female.

The main race win went to Peter Emase (Run Fast) in 28:44, with fellow Kenyan Bernard Rotich (Moyo Sports) second in 29:00 with Serpentine’sNicholas Torry third and first Brit in 29:13.

Another Kenyan, Polline Wanjiku (Run Fast) was first female in 32:18, withTish Jones (Belgrave Harriers) second (33:55) and Gladys Ruto (Run Fast) third (34:30).

Unseasonal humid conditions made racing tough in Swansea on Sunday and this was reflected in many of the times posted, especially for the British runners.

Cardiff’s Jon Hopkins took both U23 and senior silver behind Griffiths in the Welsh 10k Championships, running 31:22.

Tipton’s Ian Williams was just behind him in 31:25 to take senior bronze. Cardiff’s Mike Kallenberg was third in the U23 category with his run of 32:12.

In the women’s Welsh 10k Championship Bridgend’s Kate Roberts was second (35:41) and Lliswerry’s Emma Wookey clocked a two minute personal best of 37:03 for senior bronze and the U23 title.

Ceri-Ann Santos (Swansea Harriers - 39:11) was second in the U23 category with Shelly Brace (Stoke – 44:25) third.

In the team contest Swansea Harriers took the win in both the men and women’s competitions with Cardiff-based Les Croupiers second in both and Cardiff third in the men’s and TROTS third in the women’s.

Welsh 10 Championships results – Individual

U20 men; 1st Josh Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) 33:30; 2nd Sam Longville (Cardiff) 37:33; 3rd Llyr ab Einion (Aberystwyth) 44:55.

U23 men; 1st Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) 30:36; 2nd Jon Hopkins (Cardiff) 31:23; 3rd Mike Kallenberg (Cardiff) 32:13.

U23 women; 1st Emma Wookey (Lliswerry) 37:03; 2nd Ceri-Ann Santos (Swansea Harriers) 39:11; Shelly Brace (Stoke) 44:25.

Senior men; 1st Dewi Griffiths (Swansea Harriers) 30:36, 2nd Jon Hopkins (Cardiff) 31:23; 3rd Ian Williams (Tipton) 31:36.

Senior women; 1st Andrea Whitcombe (Swansea Harriers) 34:45; 2nd Kate Roberts (Bridgend) 35:41; 3rd Emma Wookey (Lliswerry) 37:03.

Men V35; 1st Nathaniel Lane (Cardiff) 32:12; 2nd Graham Breen (Les Croupiers) 32:33; 3rd Jerome Edwards (Les Croupiers) 33:09.

Women V35; 1st Kelly Morgan (Aberdare) 41:45; 2nd Louise Howells (Llyswery) 43:21; 3rd Claire Beatty (Les Croupiers); 3rd 43:32.

Men V40; 1st Huw Evans (Les Croups) 33:32; 2nd Lee Jones (Deeside 33:37); 3rd Richard Wilder (San Domenico) 35:10.

Women V40; 1st Andrea Whitcombe (Swansea Harriers) 34:45; 2nd Emma Crowe (Wrexham) 37:06; 3rd Nicola Gethin (Parc Bryn) 39:40.

Men V45; 1st Paul Griffiths (Neath) 34:50; 2nd Steve Thomas (Aberdare) 34:56; 3rd Stefan Sims (Fairwater) 35:05.

Women V45; 1st Susan Watson (Les Croups) 39:30; 2nd Ann Thomas (TROTS) 39:51; Niki Morgan (Chepstow ) 40:30.

Men V50; 1st Peter Coles (Pontypridd) 35:03; 2nd Roy Whitehouse (Neath) 35:50; Phil Bristow (San Domenico) 36:38.

Women V50; 1st Jacqueline Brace (Bridgend AC) 42:48; 2nd Mary Bowen-Thomas (TROTS) 43:39;  3rd Caroline Jones (TROTS) 46:09.

Men V55; 1st Eryl Husband (Lancaster) 38:13; 2nd Kneath Phillippart (Swansea Harriers) 38:28; 3rd Mike Murphy (Les Croups) 38:48.

Women V55; 1st Dawn Kenwright (Sarn Helen) 44:41; 2nd Ann Rowell (TROTS) 52:23.

Men V60; 1st Howard Kent (Les Croups) 41:30; 2nd Simon Partridge (Neath) 41:44; 3rd Malcolm Bradley (Penarth and Dinas) 42:58.

Women V60; 1st Brenda Avery (Chepstow) 47:52; 2nd Margaret Monk (Parc Bryn) 48:48; 3rd Gillian Murphy (Les Croups) 55:48.

Men V65: 1st Bob Wolterton (Bridgend AC) 42:06; 2nd Cyril Walters (TROTS) 48:08; 3rd Jeff Aston (Les Croups) 50:16.

Men V70; 1st Peter Moody (Carmarthen) 43:03; 2nd John Gardner (Pembroke) 43:07; 3rd Brian Gough Pontypridd (45:17).

Men V75; 1st Alan Bladen (Les Croups) 72:26.

Men V80; 1st Allan Smith (3Ms) 59:20.

Welsh 10 Championships results – Team

Senior men; 1st Swansea Harriers (20 points), 2nd Les Croupiers (62 points), 3rd Cardiff (66 points)

Senior women; 1st Swansea Harriers (17 points), 2nd Les Croupiers (43 points), 3rd TROTS (67 points).

Veteran men’s; 1st Les Croupiers (31 points), 2nd Neath (42 points), 3rd San Domenico (79 points).

Veteran women’s; 1st Chepstow AC (38 points); 2nd TROTS (39 points); 3rdLes Croupiers (39 points – third on countback).

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA