Caernarfon 10km inc Welsh Championships - Run Wales fixture 11

Welsh Championships Results

The well established Caernarfon 10km road race, first contested in 1986 has for the past several years incorporated the North Wales 10k championships. In 2012 the race will once again host the North Wales 10km Championships as well as the Welsh & Welsh Inter Regional 10km Championships as was the case in 2008 when the Male course record of 31.02 was set by Michael Johnson (Cardiff AAC), the female record holder is none other than 24Hrs World Record Holder and 2006 100km World Champion Lizzie Hawker whose time of 36.26 set in 2007 is still her PB for the distance.

The race route boasts one of the most scenic courses in the UK. Half the route runs along the Menai Straits, with the spectacular Caernarfon Castle as a focal point for the competitors as they approach the finishing line.  Runners also enjoy great views across the Menai Strait to Anglesey with the Llyn Peninsular and the Eifl Mountain Range in the distance.

The race is quite unique in that it can be run either in a clockwise or Anti-clockwise direction, one of the very few road races in the UK which can re-route the course in the reverse direction. The event attracts runners from across Wales, the rest of the UK and Ireland and in 2010 the race was won by a Frenchman. The local area club, The Eryri Harriers boasts 13 individual race winners.

One of the most famous people to run in the race was former Commonwealth Gold medallist Ron Hill, who stated, after finishing the race in 2005, that: 'The course provided the runners with fantastic scenery and was a credit to the area'.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA