Nos Galan 5km

The 5km elite race is the highlight of the race programme. This year Wales will be sending an unofficial representative team with the North of England travelling down to the Cynon Valley based event, to compete against Wales in the form of a ''mob match’’.

Cardiff AAC’s Adam Bitchell has the fastest pb amongst the Welsh athletes which he set on the track earlier this year in 13:57. Adam’s coach and previous Nos Galan Champion James Thie is in the team and will be a real threat based on his record in this event. Their club-mate Jorge Thomas is also in the team and won here in 2008.

Swansea Harrier Phil Matthews is in great current form and with a 10km pb of 30:03 is sure to run well under 15 minutes for half the distance.

Andrea Whitcombe won here in 2007 and 2009 and fittingly leads the Welsh Women's team.

The Nos Galan Race is the first fixture in the 2012 Run Wales Series.

The evening programme begins at 4:30pm with a firework display at 6:45pm and the Elite race at 7:00pm.

Full Welsh Team;

Steve Davies Belgrave Harriers
Matt Janes Bedford & County
James Thie Cardiff AAC
Ieuan Thomas Cardiff AAC
Adam Bitchell Cardiff AAC
Carwyn Jones Cardiff AAC
Phil Matthews Swansea Harriers
Jorge Thomas Cardiff AAC
Team Manager - Alex Donald
Andrea Whitcombe Swansea Harriers
Alaw Beynon-Thomas Swansea Harriers
Kate Roberts Bridgend AC
Natasha Cockram Cwmbran Harriers
Team Manager - Jacqueline Brace





Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA