Roll of Honour

The sport of athletics is overwhelmingly an amateur sport run by volunteers, without whom the sport would not exist. Welsh Athletics firmly believes in recognising those who have given outstanding service to the sport in Wales and the following list contains the names of such individuals.

Historical Note

An award scheme for athletics in Wales was inaugurated by the Welsh AAA which was formed in 1948, and was the first body to control athletics throughout Wales.

The Award of Honour was the first to be established in 1952 to mark outstanding service over a “long period of time”. The Meritorious Award followed two years later to reward individuals for a shorter period of service. For individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to athletics in Wales, further recognition was introduced in 1989 with the introduction of a Life Member category, with the number restricted to a maximum of ten individuals.

In the major re-organisation of 1990, the Athletics Association of Wales (AAW) – the body which replaced the Welsh AAA, the Welsh Women’s AAA and the Welsh Cross-Country Association – opted to continue with the Life Member and Meritorious Awards but delayed the continuation of the Award of Honour until 1995.

When Welsh Athletics Limited replaced the AAW in 2007, it was decided to retain all three categories of awards.

Here is the full Roll of Honour.



Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA