2010 Hall of Fame Dinner

The fourth Welsh Athletics Awards Dinner saw two hundred guests gather at the Angel Hotel in Cardiff on Saturday, 18th September 2010 for what turned out to be a magnificent evening of celebration.

Hall of Fame 2010The Commonwealth Games-themed ceremony saw three more names being added to the Welsh Athletics Hall of Fame:  fittingly,  the new inductees were Commonwealth Games champions Steve Barry (30km Walk, Brisbane 1982) and Kay Morley-Brown (100mH, Auckland 1990) and silver medallist Venissa Head (Discus throw, Edinburgh 1986) They join a list of athletes who, with their results and by setting example, have brought distinction to the sport athletics in Wales.

The night saw the presence of  several former Hall of Fame inductees, such as former World Record holders Steve Jones and Ron Jones and World Champion Jamie Baulch, and of the 2010 Commonwealth Games team which will soon leave on its way to India.

Among the stars of the night, European silver medallist Christian Malcolm and European Champion David Greene, the latest Welshmen to win honours in major competitions, were "visited" by Clive Williams during one of his trademark "table walks".

Greene received the award for Male Athlete of the Year in the light of his stunning achievements this season, while the Female Athlete of the Year award went to sprinter Elaine O’Neill. Among the juniors, the Athlete of the Year awards went to David Guest, who finished fourth at the Junior World Championships in Moncton, Canada, and Ffion Bodilly, Britain's best high jumper in her age group..

Olympic bronze medallist and Hall of Fame inductee John Disley presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Alan Currie, former President of Welsh Athletics. Throughout the last 50 years, Alan's contribution to athletics has been unsurpassed, and this achievement is in recognition of the many ways his work has helped shape Welsh Athletics as it is today.

As in the previous dinners in 2008 and 2009, the night was the occasion to celebrate the other true heroes of Welsh Athletics – the volunteers and coaches who everyday put in a remarkable effort to create the basis of our sport. The recipients of the Welsh Athletics 2010 Club Awards were:

  • Club of the Year (Track & Field): Cardiff AAC
  • Club of the Year (Off Track): Swansea Harriers
  • Club of the Year (Juniors): Carmarthen and District Harriers
  • Club of the Year (Inclusivity): Wrexham AAC
  • Club Volunteer of the Year: James Williams (Cardiff AAC)
  • Services to Club Development: Eiddwen Davies (Carmarthen and District Harriers)
  • Newcomer to Officiating: Alan Garrison (Cardiff AAC)
  • Off Track Official of the Year: Gareth Hughes (Prestatyn RC)
  • Track & Field Official of the Year: Jane Dakin (Bridgend AC)
  • Participation Coach of the Year: Richard Wyer (Carmarthen and District Harriers)
  • Performance Coach of the Year: Darrell Maynard (Cardiff AAC)
  • Partnership of the Year: Magnox North/Wylfa Power Station - Menai T&F/North Wales Athletics

Welsh Athletics was happy to announce that Cardiff AAC (Club of the Year), Eiddwen Davies (Volunteer of the Year), Darrell Maynard (Coach of the Year) and the Magnox North/Menai T&F partnership would progress to the UKA Awards as representatives of Wales.

Swansea Harriers were the recipients of the Wilkinson Sword, awarded to the Welsh club collecting the most medals in the Welsh Championships. They succeed 2009 winners Cardiff AAC.

The night also featured the award ceremony for the Welsh Schools Athletic Association. Accolades (including a training grant) for the best Endurance runners went to Natasha Cockram and Jonathan Hopkins, while the prizes for track & field went to Ffion Bodilly and David Guest.

Pictures of the night are available on DE Photo's website.

Welsh Athletics Ltd.
Cardiff International Sports Stadium
Leckwith Road
Cardiff. CF11 8AZ.

  • WAG
  • SCW
  • UKA